Was this a sin?

Even though I am an adult (23-years-old), I still live in the family house. I grew up in a University town (Gainesville, FL—University of Florida), so I lived at home while going to school. This past December (2008), I finished Bachelor’s degree and, for now, am in transition (hopefully, that will end because, in 09/2010, I will enter the Franciscan Custody of the Holy Land as a Candidate and move up to Washington, DC). It’s weird because he doesn’t actually live in the house, but at grandparent’s (his parent’s) house a few miles away. They passed away recently so he takes care of their old house (can’t leave a house abandoned) and I deal with the ‘family house’ (which is only a few blocks away from the UF campus where I was a student). Obviously, he stops in to check on everything (it’s still his house and my younger sister who is 18 lives here as well).

Anyway, my dad is a bit of a health nut (he’s had some health scares) and I am not (I am one of those type who almost takes the stance of I’ll worry about those issues when they happen). So, he is not thrilled when I eat the junk food, especially when money is tight for all of us, but I guess I see it as my bit of enjoyment or something. Anyway, to avoid argument/discussion (you know how it is, even though I’m an adult, I’ll always be my father’s son and he worries for my health and perhaps some money wastage), is it lying to throw stuff away in such a manner so that it is not right in his face/so it’s kind of covered up kind of thing (i.e. it was like I had some doughnuts earlier and when I threw the box away, I took it out to the outside garbage can and, after the box was in, threw in a bag of garbage from the kitchen, which was pretty full anyway, so it wasn’t like it wouldn’t have needed be done, but perhaps not right then, so it was on top of the box). Is that lying/deception or am I just being Scrupulous?