Water fountian in front of Altar

Hello,

I need some advice, I am a student at the Church Ministry Institution in the Archdiocese of Phila. anyhow one of our classes was on liturgical abuses and I think I saw a blatant one at my church. In front of the altar were lilies and in front of the was a pedestal with an electric fountian on it, guess what I could not see the altar it was completly blocked and not only that they had flowers above the tabernacle that were so high it blocked the crucified feet of Our Lord. I did not go to the upper church on Easter and the week after I went to another to celebrate Divine Mercy so this was the first Sunday that I noticed it. I was thinking about writing a letter to the pastor and the person about this any suggestions.

Thank you
Kathy Kientzy

it sounds like the flowers and decorations were in front of the altar, not on it, so what is the problem? If by fountain you mean the baptismal font for the Easter vigil, it should be in the sanctuary if possible, if it is an older church and there is no room for baptisms in the narthex. also the preparations for the Easter vigil may necessitate some disarrangements if the church is small, so chill out, the rites and the Mass are what is most important, not your view of the proceedings.

Because our Church is being built by people with no Liturgical background they do not understand that the Baptismal fount should be in the “court of the Gentiles”.

According to my teaching nothing should be in front of the altar let alone on top of it. It could not be seen and from what I understand it should be. And it wasn’t a baptismal font it was one of those little ones you buy in the store and plug in.

Thank you