Wedding Music Help

I was told to re-post my request for assistance here in hopes that benedictgal would see it, but anyone’s help is appreciated of course!

Thanks!

Hello,

I’m a complete novice when it comes to knowing what music is allowed at Catholic weddings, so please don’t flame me. The songs I like, my pianist friend is having a hard time playing, and he suggested some alternatives. I told him I’d figure out if they’re allowed or not. These would be for the prelude, while the guests are being seated.

He suggested:
Brahms - Intermezzo in A major Opus 118
Debussey - Clair de Lune
Chopin (I think his works aren’t allowed, but I’m not sure)

I’m also not sure if the piece of music matters or if it’s the composer i.e. if a composer composed some sacred music, all his work is deemed ok. I’m also not sure how much it matters if it’s just for the prelude. I really want my friend to play Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, but he’s looking for a simple arrangement, so I’m going to have to find that for him. Suggestions on where to find a simple arrangement for that would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

Try this website. I think you will have more success with getting answers.
brides.ourladyforums.com

There are two very good intermediate versions of Jesu Joy… in sheet music form. Try Sheetmusic.com. Also, if you have a music store or piano store in town, they will be able to find it for you.

At the risk of sounding mean, I would consider a different pianist and even an organist. Talk to your church music director or the local Piano Music Guild. Also, ask around for piano teachers in the area, they usually know very good ones.

The only song I know for sure that is not “permitted” is “Here comes the bride”. Most music is allowed as along as it is reverent. Mendelsshohn’s wedding march is beautiful and can be used - it is the one from the movie the Sound of Music.