Were any of you scared to get pregnant?

Hi, I am a newbie here but this is a question that I have had for a while. I recently got married in October, 2008 and my husband and I want to start a family but my husband has a medical problem that might prevent us for the time being from conceiving :(. That is a long story but anyway, I want to have children but I am very scared of getting pregnant. I'm 32 and I am a overweight. Sure, I know I can lose some weight but I will probably never lost a lot :( due to my genes, etc. I have heard all sorts of horror stories about bigger women who get pregnant and all the health problems. It scares me.

How do you deal with these sorts of feelings? Is there anyone here who has had a similar situation?

I am recently married, and though my husband and I have not started our family yet (this fall is my last semester of grad school), I can relate with the thought that starting a family as a bit scary, though exciting.

I have had some body image issues in the past, and did have a slight fear of reverting to some bad behaviors, but I can tell you that what helped me is focusing on being healthy rather than some superficial notion of physical beauty. I would recommend finding a crossfit gym close to you (check out www.crossfit.com) because they focus on building in functional fitness regardless of the person’s initial physical abilities. It is essentially training as an athlete, rather than to loose a few inches around the waist.