Were/are these sports sinful?

Formula 1 and other divisions in 1980 and before: Formula 1 was in 1980s and before even more dangerous than NASCAR. A lot of people died. Was participating or watching this sport where several people drove in circles for the top award even to the deah a sin?

Professional boxing: The sport that bother’s me the most. I myself train amateur boxing and until some time ago, i was a big fan of professional boxing. I think its a noble, honourable and friendly sport with sometimes catastrophic consuquences. People die in the ring alot of times or get heavily injured. But these deaths and heavy injuries are mostly the result of the stubrness of boxers, who would fight even if they know that their life is on the line. Professional boxing would be alot safer if there would be a governing body to know when it is safe for a boxer to fight or not.

You can die in most sports. In football or rugby, someone could get hit hard enough to die, or their heart can give out on the field/pitch. A cheerleader can fall or be dropped and die.

Heck, walking down a flight of stairs can cause death if you trip and fall. That doesn’t mean that we should stop walking down stairs.

I imagine one may find various opinions on such – here is a Quote from a Professional Moral Theologian:

**“Moralists generally have doubted the morality of professional boxing, of the bull-fighting popular in Hispanic culture, of speed racing, and of various kinds of stunting in which there is serious risk of death or grave bodily injury.”

~ Fr. Benedict Ashley OP

From the work “Living the Truth in Love, a Biblical introduction to Moral Theology” 1996 pg 306 (Alba House).