What about crying during confession?

What about crying during confession? Does anyone have tears come when they are in the confessional?

Tears in the confessional, to me, are like the bath waters of Jesus’ forgiveness! Just let 'em flow. :stuck_out_tongue:

Personally I never have, though I’ve come close afterwards.

Most of the confessionals around here will have a box of tissues close to hand for the penitent, so obviously plenty of people do. And I think it’s a fine thing.

I’ve done it before. Sometimes its just spontaneous and I just let it happen. Perhaps it’s the Spirit at work giving one deep contrition for their sins.

Not yet, but I’m still new at this:o

Nothing wrong about it. Letting sins out can be a very emotional thing for everyone, even the most hardened on the outside.

You bet! I cry. But it is like a weight lifted off my shoulders afterwards.

And I notice that I am not the only one who cries.

CEM

I come really, really close, and have actually cried a time or two, but I dislike being sad in public…too many questions! So I try to hide the evidence :o

No matter how mundane or benign I feel my sins may be at the time… for some reason, I cry more often than not during confession.

I usually don’t think it’s going to happen, it doesn’t seem to have anything to do with my mood going in… but then, before I know it, I am overcome with silent tears and can hardly speak…

It’s embarrassing really, but I’m learning to accept it :slight_smile:

Nice to hear, because I just know I am going to cry like a baby when I make my first confession. Admission of guilt ALWAYS makes me cry, and 26 years worth of guilt is going to HURT :eek:

Cheer up, I had 55 years worth for my first confession. :crying: But I also had a whole hour face to face with a very undertsanding Priest, and that made all the difference. But if you do cry, the Priest will take in stride.