What are beginnings of scrupulosity?

I dealt with scrupulosity about two years ago and I’m trying to write about a character with similar experiences, but I can’t remember what ideas and misunderstandings led to my first scrupulous practices? Do you know of any examples? Thanks!

I am still a newbie in the Catholic faith, so if someone could explain to me what scrupulosity realy was it would be great!

It means to do things by the book, and to worry if they are not.

I guess it could start by an aggravation of what is perceived as a double standard. A perfectionist is scrupulous.

I think in regards to Catholicism, it can get out of hand. An example would be judging others and questioning their piety, which is something I struggle with.

Another example would be a Catholic who attends daily Mass, and worries if he/she has let God down by missing a weekday Mass.

St Alphonsus is the Patron Saint of the Scrupulous.

Scrupulosity usually seems to involve distressing emotions and stressing about small details regarding any perceived fault or sin or failure. When as a child St Therese became scrupulous, she got upset over every litle fault or perceived failure, and then got upset over the fact that she’d been upset. Such folks may go to Confession with their sins but come away still obsessing about anything they forgot, or if they’d confessed properly, if the sins were really forgiven.

Thank you! I think I may see a little of that in myself, but that is partly due to my background. Perhaps one day I will start a thread with my conversion story.