What are Catholics doing when they first kneel?

As you know I am a convert or two years and so some things I’m still learning about. When I come into the church I walk down the aisle. genuflect by the pew, move by my pew, pull out the kneeler, kneel, cross myself and then pray.

At least I thought this is what you're suppose to do? But as I see others come in, when they first kneel, they **don't ** pray at all. They just cross themselves, stare straight forward a bit and then are seated. Do I have something wrong here? What are you suppose to be doing when you come into the church kneel and cross yourself? Better yet what do you really do?

I think you’re just seeing people for whom it has all become routine and it is now just a simple sign of respect rather than a prayer. This happens to people with repetition. I try and kneel, cross myself, and remain down for a moment every time I enter or leave a pew or walk in front of the altar. I don’t always say a prayer, but try to show the respect necessary for passing through the presence of a King (the King of King’s to be precise). I think praying every time you genuflect is a good practice, I sometimes see people (even younger people) that don’t even genuflect. I try not to think about it though, as I have no idea of their situation and its not my place to worry about such things. I hope that helps some.

[quote=justcatholic]At least I thought this is what you’re suppose to do? But as I see others come in, when they first kneel, they **don’t ** pray at all. They just cross themselves, stare straight forward a bit and then are seated. Do I have something wrong here? What are you suppose to be doing when you come into the church kneel and cross yourself? Better yet what do you really do?
[/quote]

Just Catholic,