What are some of the main reasons that people are attracted to the Protestant faith?

If this has been asked before, feel free to direct me to a previous thread. I’ve been poking around CAF for a few months now, but I’m still newer and still exploring all the different forums and topics and have likely missed recent discussions. I was raised non-denominational Christian, but kind of fell away from church during my 20s. I didn’t stop believing in God, but I felt something was lacking in my church experiences and no longer felt like I belonged there. I’ve lately been considering the Catholic faith and have a feeling I eventually will be, but I’m in the questioning phase right now.

My question is this: Kind of specifically for those ex-Catholic CAF posters (or anyone else familiar with people’s reasons for leaving the Catholic faith) - What are some of the main reasons that people leave the Catholic faith for Protestant faith?

Having come from a Protestant upbringing, I know why I became disenchanted with Protestantism, but Protestantism obviously must have draw for some as many people leave other faiths for it. I’m curious at to what that draw typically is.

Am I just “bored” by Protestantism because it’s what I grew up in, and that’s why I’m turning to Catholicism? If I had instead grown up Catholic, would I have eventually gotten bored of Catholicism and switched to Protestantism, just because it was different? Or could my convictions toward Catholicism be genuine?

My friend, many of your questions you ask are personal questions that only you can answer for yourself on reflection.

However your question on why Catholics become protestants is, I suspect, being asked because you are juggling around in your own faith journey and are afraid (in the sense of tentative unsureness) that if others are leaving, then why are you being drawn to the Catholic Church?