What are the differences between the first 3 ways of St. Thomas Aquinas' 5 ways for the existence of God?

PS: I am NOT an expert in philosophy, so please, if I had made an error in reasoning please inform me.

What exactly are the differences between Aquinas’ first 3 ways for the existence of God. It seems to me that fundamentally speaking, they all basically say that “Things exist but they don’t need to exist, so there must be something that exists by necessity, which is what we call God”
Am I mistaken on something here?

Im not an expert either. Here is my take on Aquinas’ 5 ways. Some of the arguments are similar and argue for a first cause (i.e. first cause of change - unmoved mover, first cause of existence) . Notice, Aquinas does not yet show that the first cause is God. Instead he simply says that we think of it as God or it is what people mean by God. After the 5 arguments he goes on to demonstrate why the first cause he spoke of is God. So first he demonstrates there is a first cause. Then later he demonstrates this first cause must be God.

This sounds like the contingency argument. Everything is contingent except the first cause which must be eternally uncaused.

An analogy to this is the coffee cup example. A cup on the table is being held up by the table. And the table is being held up by the floor. And the floor is being held up by the building. And the building is being held up by the earth. In this example we can think of the earth as the first cause and everything else is contingent upon the earth for it’s own causal powers in the chain of causes. Each cause derives its causal power from the earth. If there was no foundation nothing else could have the power to hold up the cup. Thus in this example there must be a first cause. Not first in time since all causes must be active at the same time. But first in the causal sequence.