What are your thoughts on this Mark Twain Quote?

“But who prays for Satan? Who in eighteen centuries, has had the common humanity to pray for the one sinner that needed it most, our one fellow and brother who most needed a friend yet had not a single one, the one sinner among us all who had the highest and clearest right to every Christian’s daily and nightly prayers, for the plain and unassailable reason that his was the first and greatest need, he being among sinners the supremest?”

That was a quote from famous writer Mark Twain.

What are your thoughts on it?

Peace and all Good to you!

Do you know where in Mark Twain’s writing this quote came from?

I’m no expert on these things but since Satan is an Angel (albeit now a fallen one), he knew what the eternal consequences of his choice would be and, being a spiritual being and angel, his choice was final and irrevocable so any prayers for him could not result in any conversion. His angelic nature is a game changer I think.

I probably haven’t expressed this very well so apologies if I make no sense!

God Bless

Satan is that unclean spirit who has irrefutably set his will against God and imprisoned himself in narcissism and malice. We don’t pray for Satan or his angels for the same reason that we don’t pray for the human souls who are in Hell, and to do so would either be - at best - done out of ignorance and with futility, or - at worst - be done out of deplorable arrogance, where the praying person is openly defiant towards Church doctrine and says to himself in his heart “I am wiser than God.”

Satan and his angels are damned. There is no point to pray for them. Angels aren’t like us, they make a choice and that’s it, there’s no going back.

Mark Twain is a great author but a poor theologian. In his later years his writings took on a particularly anti-Christian, even anti-theist turn. Read, for example is short book “The Mysterious Stranger.”

His autobiography.