What can you do with religion that you can't do with it?

First off, I’d like to say sorry if I’m not posting this in the proper place. This is my first time posting a thread of my own on these forums and I got a bit confused, but hopefully this is okay. Now, on to the question at hand…

I was having a conversation with a very anti-religious person and they basically asked me, what can you do with religion that you can’t do without it? As a Christian, I know that religion (specifically Christianity) leads to salvation and a loving relationship with God, something that you can’t get any other way. But since this person does not believe in either of those things, I don’t think that will be a very satisfactory answer for them. Sure, I could make the argument that religion promotes virtues such as patience, love, self-control, and so on, has helped many people and changed their lives, etc. But other things besides religion have also done the same. Any suggestions on what I should say? Should I not even bother?

Sorry for the confusing title, I messed it up a bit. :blush: I meant: What can you do with religion that you can’t do without it? Or, in other words, what can religion do that non-religion can’t?

I think the question you were asked by the non-believer is the wrong question.

We don’t follow a religion because of what we can do (or not do). We follow a religion because it’s true.

Thus, it’s irrelevant whether believers vs nonbelievers can engage in different behaviors or not.

The question we ought to be asking is: is religion A true or not?

If it’s true, then we follow it, and what behaviors were do or not do are borne from that.

This. :thumbsup:

And therefore, the question reduces to “what can you do with truth that you can’t do without it?”