What careers are there having to do with Scripture?

What careers are there having to do with Scripture as the topic?

I would say as I’ve gotten older much of what still interests me is the Scriptures. A lot of other things don’t anymore. Such as things I studied in school. So I want to make a career out of the Scriptures. But I don’t know what my options are. Are there any careers regarding Scripture other than teaching it? And what is teaching it like?

Religious education would be one and RCIA.

But also the slightly different direction of language. To really know scripture you would need to know Greek and Hebrew. Mastery of either one of those can be a full-time lifetime endeaver and involve teaching & translating.

Priest.

Brother.

Theologian.

Seminary teacher.

Religious Ed. teacher.

Religious writer.

Yes, I know you said “other than teacher.” :shrug:

Do you feel you have a call to a religious vocation?

What about any careers that are paid, as in you can support a wife and kids off of?
And how would you go about getting a job in the chuch doing that?

Fascinating.

Michael Mayo,
Why do you think one needs to master ancient Hebrew or Greek in order to understand Scripture very well?

TheRealJuliane,

Thank you for the list of ideas. I will take note of this entire thread.

And feed me,

I look forward to the responses others will give you.

TheRealJuliane,

I don’t know if I’m being called to a religious vocation. Sometimes I think I might be. But I don’t know.

It would be good for you to get a spiritual director. He can help you listen to the Holy Spirit.

:slight_smile:

It provides deeper insight. We can still have very good understanding of scripture but knowing the original langauges really puts us into that world better.