What do you think of Girl Scouts?

I have had a less than pleasant experience being a jr troop leader this year & am wondering if the awful attitudes I have experienced in other girl scout troop leaders here locally is found elsewhere or is the prevailing attitude or just an isolated experience??

I have had some good experiences as well…just looking for feedback here.

I am considering the Pilgrams of the Holy Family program for our family as an alternative.
Thanks,
Renny

Since understandint that the Orginization permits the various troops to support Planned Parenthood, I’ve not bought a box of cookies in years.

It’s been about 5 years since my daughters were involved…but I was always pretty amazed at the enthusiasm of the troop leaders we encountered. It was certainly not something I could have managed with such consistency (some kept their troops together and active for 8-10 years!!). Perhaps your locale does not have a strong tradition of scouting or is not well supported by the national organization~and another group would suit you better.

Coming from a former GS leader, I personally think that the vast majority of them are terrific!:slight_smile:

Could we puuuleeze not hijack the thread in this direction? I know sooo many troops organized out of Catholic schools/parishes and run by great Catholic moms/troop leaders that never have a thing to do with PP and DO offer great life lessons and experiences to the young girls who get involved.

In no way shape or form is this an attempt to hijack. OP asked what I think of girl scouts, I answered. Sorry if I offended. That is what I think. My opinion.

To the OP, yes, I would be of the opinion that finding an alternative group is a great idea.

The *idea *of GS is great, and most of their curriculum and badges are positive-- but I think that girls can get that from Catholic organizations like the Little Flowers which also incorporate Catholic values and a Catholic world view.