What does a Music and Liturgy director do?

Hello,
I’ve been leading music in the Catholic Church for 40 years. For the first time in my ministry I am facing the possibility that I may be asked to become the Director of Music and Liturgy at my parish.

Well, I know how to run a music program but I am a bit lost to know what I will do as the ‘Liturgy’ director.

I have studied Liturgy as it pertains to music these past 40 years but I just wonder what will be the day to day tasks for that roll.

thank you for reading and for any insights you may offer.

I have heard the the only difference between a liturgist and a terrorist is that you can negotiate with a terrorist. I hope that won’t be true in my new career! :o

peace,
Hosea

Since you'll be doing Music and Liturgy, maybe you'll get a raise! :D

I got nuthin' else but congrats and prayers! :cool:

You might not be doing anything you aren’t already doing. My husband is the music liturgist and his job is to plan the psalm and hymns to be used at Mass, schedule and train the cantors, choose music for the choir and rehearse them, provide music for special Masses and services, and play the organ and piano at Mass. If they are calling you the Music and Liturgy director, they may want you to get the readings and petitions ready for Mass and be in charge of scheduling the readers and altar boys.

Well, probably just getting more work to do...:D