What does the Bible say about heaven?

I’m not sure how much is really known about heaven, but I have a few questions.

When we get to heaven, do we recognize people from our earthly lives? For example, will I recognize my grandfather when I get there?

Also, I had a miscarriage in the past, will I get to meet my baby?

I hope these questions don’t seem silly, but I’ve been thinking lately about people that have gone on before me, and my dad isn’t as young as he used to be, and I have to come to terms with the fact that he will go on before me as well. I would like to think that I’ll see the people I love again one day.

Thanks for any insight!

I’m still learning how to read and cite scripture, but Revelation chapter 19 to verse 10 talks about heaven.

Much of heaven is a mystery. No one has really come back to tell us.

I think it is good to hope for such things as you describe. After-all we believe in the Communion of Saints.

There is much mystery about exactly what heaven will be like, but we can certainly surmise that we will see and recognize others in heaven.

St Catherine of Sienna had some things in here “dialogues” on the subject. I’ll see if I can find it.

Peace
James

St. Thomas Aquinas (1225 - 7 March 1274) says in the Summa Theologica that a spirit enjoying beatific vision sees in God all things pertaining to itself.

S. th. III:10:2:

For every created intellect knows in the Word, not all simply, but so many more things the more perfectly it sees the Word. Yet no beatified intellect fails to know in the Word whatever pertains to itself.