What does the MC do in a Mass?

Pardon me, I’m new to this web site so bare with me pls. Does anyone have knowledge of and/or a source/link on the responsibilities of a Mass MC? Thx

A Master of Ceremonies is used in more complex or solemn Masses to direct the clergy and laity in rituals they may be unfamiliar with.

Forgive me if some of my sentences make no sense, it’s been a long day:

The/A MC(s) help the clergy, laity, and servers in more complex masses and liturgies. I MC at my cathedral every Sunday, as well as ordinations, holy week, and many other diocesan Masses. When the bishop is not there, I am the MC, but when he is, I’m just the assistant MC.

What they do…

At ordinations, one big MC job is guiding all of the concelebrants where they need to go for the procession, laying of on hands, kiss of peace, and the recession. Another big one is making sure servers get where they need to go, with what they need to have, so that the bishop isn’t left waiting for something. Luckily, for big Masses, we have several MCs so things go soothly. As part of MCing, I almost always help setup before Mass, and take down after, but this could be done by someone else, such as a sacristan.

On a normal Sunday Mass, when I’m the lone MC, before Mass, I setup everything where it needs to go (I guess I’m the sacristan too), give out “jobs” (Thurafur, boat, Crucifer, Candle bearer, lavabo…) to our 12-15 servers. During Mass, I just watch to make sure everything goes smoothly. If someone messes up, and needs to be fixed, I gently (and discreetly) try to fix it. This isn’t universal, but part of my “job description” is also keeping an eye on the servers for goofing around (I’m 15, and the oldest one by far :D), especially when they are in the sacristy. Most people won’t have to deal with that last last thing though…:smiley: