What does your church mean to you?

Do you attend the same church every week, and I wonder how much you may like it? Before I graduated high school I lived with my mother on the other side of the mountain, near a small white church. I had my first communion there, confirmation, I took CCD classes and taught them for three years. I married Jon in that church two years ago. I have absolutely nothing against the local Catholic church we attend now, but I am very grateful to have so many wonderful memories in the little white church on the other side of the mountain. My husband and I love going there for Mass one or two times each month to make sure it’s still standing and to see if the aisle still works.

My family has attended the same church since we came to this country in 1898. Here in the Deep South, there are not nearly as many Catholic churches as in other parts of the country. Most towns here in my diocese, if they have a Catholic church, will only have one.

I love my parish church. The pastor is great - the soul of common sense and kindness. The people are lovely. The building has a wonderful organ and even better acoustics, which mean a lot to me as a cantor. We’ve been there about 12 years, give or take a couple.