What exactly do I confess and how?

Brand new baptized catholic here. I really need some help with this. Do I confess every sinful thought I have and the things I should have done but didn't including my sinful actions, like if I see an attractive girl and think bad things or just walk past someone begging for money on the street like he doesn't exist? How about if I devote more time and effort into watching a game rather than studying to better myself? What if I purposely skip praying to save time?

I've never used the confessional before and I have no idea what I should confess.

I recently had my first confession. Father said to confess to those things that you feel you are struggling with right now. You wont go through every single thought. Instead you might say, i have impure thoughts. It was explained to me that you want to confess to those sins which you know you need help with and forgiveness for. And dont be to worried about HOW to do confession, your priest will walk you through the steps. If you are interested we watched a you tube video by busted halo. A priest walks you through the whole process and brings a touch of humor to help lesson the nerves :)

[quote="andyklein, post:1, topic:321253"]
I've never used the confessional before and I have no idea what I should confess.

[/quote]

You need to confess mortal sins, as best you can remember, by kind and number. For example, "Since my last confession, I stole once and missed Sunday Mass twice." Generally speaking, you need not elaborate beyond this. Occasionally, the priest may ask a clarifying question, such as "Are you married, or single?" Regular examination of conscience should help, and there are many excellent guides available to assist you as needed.

Regarding the difference between mortal and venial sin, check out Catechism of the Catholic Church #1854-1864. For more about the Sacrament of Reconciliation, see #1422-1498.