What exactly is a "Lay Commissioned Minister?"

My former diocese has people with this title, and I think some other dioceses do too. I never had contact with any of them, though.

What is the origin of “Lay Commissioned Ministry?”

Is this a national program?

What is the purpose/function of these people?

Are they licit?

Is a “Lay Minister” really a contradiction in terms?

I am currently in a 2 year Lay Ministry training program, though I have no knowledge of getting any kind of “title” when it is completed so I’m not sure if it’s the same thing you are talking about or not.

As to “lay minister” being a contradicition in terms, I don’t see that at all. Any outreach that one is involved with is a ministry, even if it is a “prayer” ministry. One need not be ordained to be a minister, though at times the lines in responsibilities do admittedly get overly blurred.

Heres some good info from the USCCB link

Lay Ministers are not ordained like Priests or Deacons, so they cannot perform the Sacramentals. But they can assist the ordained, such as being an EM, youth ministry leader, etc.

That link included this description of Lay Ministers

Lay ecclesial ministers are women and men whose ecclesial service is characterized by:
Authorization of the hierarchy to serve publicly in the local church
Leadership in a particular area of ministry
Close mutual collaboration with the pastoral ministry of bishops, priests, and deacons
Preparation and formation appropriate to the level of responsibilities that are assigned to them

That would be in keeping with what our program is training for.

I am a minister of care who brings the Eucharist to the sick and homebound. I was commisioned through the diocese. Don’t know if that is what you are referring to, but that’s one way to use the term.