What exactly is a 'spiritual director"?

I keep seeing people mention spiritual directors. I assumed they were people who help guide your spiritual progress. But when I asked my priest for help in acquiring one he suggested that I help with RCIA!

What gives?

I am new to catholicism. I know precious little. I want to learn more and need help, but I do not want to tie up the priest’s time. It’s a big parish. He’s a busy man.

He also suggested ‘renew’ or ‘anew’…I cannot remember the exact name of the program. I am completely unfamiliar with that one.

Can somebody help give me a little clarification as to why the priest would suggest I help with a program when I know next to nothing about being catholic? Wouldn’t that be something for someone a little more versed in belief and tradition?

This page has a number of questions and answers about spiritual direction, including the most basic one, what is spiritual direction?

Spiritual direction is a ministry deeply rooted in the Christian tradition. Most fundamentally, the goal of spiritual direction is to help you become more aware of God’s presence in your life and to make life decisions in fidelity to that awareness. Through the guidance of a trained spiritual director, this ministry can help you clarify, articulate and affirm your spiritual experience as revealed through all the situations and events in your life. This is done by providing a loving, open environment, giving support and feedback, and being a listener and companion for your journey. Spiritual direction is not psychotherapy or counseling, but utilizes the many skills of counseling.

And just to clarify a bit, your priest doesn’t have to be your spiritual director – and he may not have the time even if he wants to. Spiritual directors can come from any walk of life – clergy, religious, or lay. You might look around for a retired priest or ask at a convent, monastery, or retreat house if there is one nearby.