What happened to a good friendship?

I am new at this so I am not sure where I should be posting this. Anyway,I have been married for over 40 yrs & had just lost my husband a few months ago. I have had a difficult time getting back to society with my new status 'single'. The Catholic priest who performed my husband's memorial mass & inurnment became a family friend. He had been at the house with other guests for gathering on a few occasions. He mingled with everyone & had a good time. My children & friends will now be wondering when he is not present at any gathering from now on. My husband & I used to eat breakfast at a restaurant once a week so there was a time when I wanted to eat out. My female friends do not get up early & I have a hard time eating by myself so I figured that asking the priest would be harmless. The priest agreed and while we were eating I asked him if it would be appropriate to asked him for breakfast every now & then since I don't want him to get in trouble. He said that he eats with other parishioners so it should not be any problem. After a month or so thru an email, I asked him again to have breakfast at a restaurant that I have been wanting to try & he replied back with a date. On that day I waited outside the restaurant for about 15 mins & I figured that he forgot about it and called him up. There was no answer so I left a message asking him to call me back. I never heard from him but the next day his homily was on 'overextending hospitality' of which has to end for whatever reason. I was so shocked.What have I done to deserve this? Why did he not just talk to me directly instead of doing it in the pulprit? As God is my witness, I have no intention of having any kind of relationship with him or any other men other than friendship! I know that his passion is his priesthood! I feel so sad & betrayed that it had to end this way. I am still hoping & praying that eventually I would hear from him & find out the truth. He was a good friend help