What is a Liturgical Rite

What is a Liturgical Rite?I was reading more about the RCIA program (church with 9 month program) and they say “There are four phases; the last three are each marked by a Liturgical Rite. Then, Baptism (or profession) occurs at the Easter Vigil Mass during Holy Week.” Appreciate all answers!

Well, depending on the context, the term ‘Liturgical Rite’ can have various meanings. I quote from here:

  1. Throughout this text, the word “rite” will be used. It should be noted that the word has two different meanings.
  2. (A) When referring to the Latin, Roman or Eastern Rite of the Catholic Church, the word “rite” relates to the specific way that the Catholic liturgy is carried out. It represents the words and ceremonies that are prescribed for the liturgy and the Sacraments of each particular rite. Within the Catholic Church, there are a number of rites such as the Ambrosian rite, the Byzantine, the Alexandrian or Coptic, the Syriac, the Armenian, the Maronite, and Chaldeans rites. (Catechism of the Catholic Church # 1203)

5. (b) When referring to the RCIA process of the Latin or Roman “rite,” the word “rite” represents the liturgical ceremonies that are celebrated in the presence of the worshipping assembly, these rites marking the beginning of each stage of the RCIA process.

Hi catholic boy I hope this answers some of your questions…At present you are regarded as a ‘Pre-Catechumenate’

The RCIA as a rite, marks stages along the path to full commitment in the Roman Catholic Church; the RCIA as a process, describes in broad terms what this gradual commitment means.

The Period of Pre-Catechumenate has as its purpose a time;
a) to become acquainted with the Roman Catholic Church
b) to hear the good news of salvation from Jesus Christ and Savior
c) to look within one’s life story and see connections to the gospel story.
d) in which the team and the inquirer continue to reflect on this process.
e) in which the length of the period lasts as long as it takes to meet the criteria for the first Rite. This could take several months to one year.
f) when the inquirer discerns if they truly desire to become Catholic at this time

The Rite of Acceptance into the Order of Catechumens/Rite of Welcome is a liturgical rite, marking the beginning of the catechumenate proper, as the candidates express and the Church accepts their intention to respond to God’s call to follow the way of Christ.

This rite may be celebrated at any time of the year, and more than once during the liturgical year, as groups of candidates in the precatechumenate become ready.

A Rite represents an ecclesiastical, or church, tradition about how the sacraments are to be celebrated. Each of the sacraments has at its core an essential nature which must be satisfied for the sacrament to be confected or realized. This essence – of matter, form and intention – derives from the divinely revealed nature of the particular sacrament. It cannot be changed by the Church. Scripture and Sacred Tradition, as interpreted by the Magisterium, tells us what is essential in each of the sacraments (2 Thes. 2:15).

Mass is made up of the Liturgy of the Word (Bible readings and Homily) and the Liturgy of the Eucharist.

Liturgy is a rite or system of rites prescribed for public worship; a customary repertoire or repetition of ideas, phrases, or observances.

When I was in RCIA they told us it was a 4 step process, this may be what they are referring to the 4 Liturgical rites.

First Step:
We started as Inquirers during the period of Inquiry.

Second Step:
Then we had the Rite of Acceptance and Welcoming that marked the beginning of our time as Catechumen (unbaptized) and Candidates (baptized non-Catholic). In my parish this was done the Sunday before the start of Advent, this also marked the beginning of our dismissals from Mass.

Third Step:
Then at the start of Lent, we had our Rite of Sending (at our home parish) followed on the same day by our Rite of Election (Catechumens) and Call to Continuing Conversion (Candidates), this was held at our diocese Cathedral with the bishop, it was all the Catechumens and Candidates for the entire diocese. After this everyone is call the Elect.

Prior to Easter, those that had already been baptized had their first reconciliation (confession). Then we had our Christian Initiation at the Easter Vigil (Baptism, Confirmation, and First Holy Communion).

Fourth Step:
Mystagogy is a period of continuing learning for new Catholics, a kind of settling in time.

In my parish, we started as Inquirers in the middle of August and finished Mystagogy at Pentecost.

We had a Rite after the first 3 steps (Rite of Acceptance and Welcoming, Rite of Election and Call to Continuing Conversion, Rites of Christian Initiation).

In this context it generally means a service celebrated in church during which no sacrament is celebrated.

So, in RCIA the Enrolment of Names and Scrutinies will be church services you will attend during Lent immediately before you receive the sacraments of initiation at the Easter Vigil but no sacrament is administered.

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit www.catholic.com.