What is New Age Music?

What exactly is new age music and is it bad to listen to it?

I have some Celtic-type songs form Lord of the Dance which are great to listen to and I was wondering if that would be bad?:shrug:

New Age music is a broad term for types of music intended to put people in a trance to make them defenseless. New Agers tend to feel there is no danger in the world, so they see this helpless mental state as good, a form of relaxation. But since the world actually is dangerous, it really isn’t a good idea IMHO to spend much time with all one’s defenses turned off, so I’d suggest thinking about how the music makes you feel.

One of the best jokes I’ve heard in a long time is:

Q: What do you get when you play New Age Music backwards?

A: . . .New Age Music! :rotfl:

Not sure. heh

Hmm, as a musician I have been asked if some of the materiaI I write is new age. Mostly the mellow laid back stuff w/ lots of ambience patches. I explain it’s not. I can’t sing well enough for the vocal track and thus it’s nothing more than an incomplete instrumental.

The late acoustic guitarist Michael Hedges was one in the new age label. I just accepted him as an incredibly talented and innovative guitarist. (shrugs)

Yet I am sure there’s a whole scene for new age beliefs but sometimes music just gets labelled.

Well there’s a lot of music (mostly classical) that puts me in a mellow mood, but it’s not New Age.:confused:

<<< New Age music is a broad term for types of music intended to put people in a trance to make them defenseless. New Agers tend to feel there is no danger in the world, so they see this helpless mental state as good, a form of relaxation. But since the world actually is dangerous, it really isn’t a good idea IMHO to spend much time with all one’s defenses turned off, so I’d suggest thinking about how the music makes you feel. >>>