What is the churchs teaching on predestination?

I was wondering what the church’s teaching on predestination is, and how does it differ from the protestant understanding on predestination. I was unaware that the church actually taught predestination. I was watching EWTN and I heard a priest say that the church teaches predestination. I did not know how to understand this from a catholic perspective. I have some knowledge of the protestant doctrine, although they differ from denomination to denomination. Maybe someone out there understands the catholic doctrine of predestination? And maybe someone has some suggested online reading or something from the CCC. May God bless you all, thanks for your help. :thumbsup:

I believe there are a number of acceptable positions within certain parameters.

Here are some sources:

cin.org/users/james/files/tulip.htm

cin.org/users/james/files/cooperat.htm

newadvent.org/cathen/06710a.htm

newadvent.org/cathen/12378a.htm

Hope these help.

The Catholic Church teaches positive-but-not-negative predestination. The reason is simple: Original-Sin-tainted mankind won’t opt for salvation, ever, within any decision. Unassisted by grace, as to every moral decision we will always opt to walk away from God.

Therefore, God is always the “initiator” of the transaction, the “Offeror,” so to speak, and we are always the “Offereee.”

That’s positive predestination.

[quote=cristian84]I was wondering what the church’s teaching on predestination is, and how does it differ from the protestant understanding on predestination.
[/quote]

The Catholic Encyclopedia article is a good place to start.

Basically all Christians believe in predestination (except for those recent theologians who deny God’s foreknowledge; but that’s an unorthodox position, although I’ve heard a priest teach it in RCIA). Predestination means that people are saved because God has graciously chosen to direct their lives toward the goal of eternal life.