What is the difference between Scripture and the Bible?

More interesting stuff from Jimmy Akin’s blog:

jimmyakin.org/2006/01/scripture_vs_bi.html

Not any.

But do you ever notice how Prots are more likely to refer to “The Bible” - whereas Catholics traditionally refer to it as “Sacred Scripture”?

Likewise, they will say, “The Bible says”, or more precisely for example, “Galatians 5:22 says…”, whereas an educated Catholic will rather say, “As St. Paul writes to the Galatians…” (or “to the Christians of”, or “to the church in” Galatia, etc…)

The difference is semantics. Believe me, Catholics (and protestants) have their own language. While I speak protestant fluently, I’m still learning Catholic. But when it came to quoting scripture, I was not a very good protestant - or catholic. I can quote verbatium in a lot of cases, but the references escape me. Usually it comes out like…"Paul says somewhere in Galatians…"
Of course now it’s “St. Paul says somewhere in Galatians…” Or even worse I’ll quote the passage and then conclude with, “It’s somewhere in Paul’s writings.” Oops! I mean, St. Paul’s writings! :rotfl:

Don’t fret, you are in good company. Even the writer of the Letter To The Hebrews does the same thing:

Heb 2:6 -
It has been testified somewhere, "What is man that thou art mindful of him, or the son of man, that thou carest for him?

Heb 4:4 -
For he has somewhere spoken of the seventh day in this way, “And God rested on the seventh day from all his works.”

It’s nice to know chapter and verse, but there’s no law that says you HAVE to! :wink:

[quote=tjmiller]Not any.

But do you ever notice how Prots are more likely to refer to “The Bible” - whereas Catholics traditionally refer to it as “Sacred Scripture”?

Likewise, they will say, “The Bible says”, or more precisely for example, “Galatians 5:22 says…”, whereas an educated Catholic will rather say, “As St. Paul writes to the Galatians…” (or “to the Christians of”, or “to the church in” Galatia, etc…)