What is the format/rules for the Prayers of the Faithful?

What is the “proper” format for the Prayer of the Faithful? I thought 1st is the Church, and then the Pope – but those two may be combined into one. Is that correct or nor? Must the Pope’s name be mentioned? 2nd petition is for the local “Church” with the Bishop. Now within this one, may the success of something the Bishop is doing throughout his diocese be included? Third petition could be for something happening in the world, earthquake, etc. The second to last petition for the Parish, and the last petition for those at that Mass. I try to keep the petitions to at most seven (but I think there may be up to 12).

Where could I find out the “rules” for proper Liturgy? I simply want to do things correctly. I have been doing this for four years now. However, a new parishioner (not a Priest) is not pleased with my work and voiced it in front of five others.

Thank you for your help.

The General Instruction of the Roman Missal prescribes the Mass. The celebrating priest, not any layperson, is in charge of the details.

usccb.org/prayer-and-worship/the-mass/general-instruction-of-the-roman-missal/girm-chapter-2.cfm#footnote-10010-67

The Universal Prayer

1. In the Universal Prayer or Prayer of the Faithful, the people respond in some sense to the Word of God which they have received in faith and, exercising the office of their baptismal Priesthood, offer prayers to God for the salvation of all. It is desirable that there usually be such a form of prayer in Masses celebrated with the people, so that petitions may be offered for holy Church, for those who govern with authority over us, for those weighed down by various needs, for all humanity, and for the salvation of the whole world.[66]

2. The series of intentions is usually to be:

a) for the needs of the Church;

b) for public authorities and the salvation of the whole world;

c) for those burdened by any kind of difficulty;

d) for the local community.