What is the Truth about Pilate

I have found myself over the year having more and more sympathy for Pilate. From reading the Historical accounts he seems to have his hands tired, he didn’t have enough troops to hold the city in a all out riot. Pilate, seems to know what is right, but is forced to do something he doesn’t believe in for political reasons.

I by profession am a supervisor, and I find myself in this situation far too often. I guess this is what has given me sympathy for him.

I have however, also read that in some of the Eastern churches he is a saint, the Catholic church doesn’t recognize him as such, nor do we recognize his gospel. If any one knows more about him I would appreciate the information.

Thanks,

Matt Cos

Historically speaking, all that we know about Pontius Pilate, beyond the Gospel accounts, is that he was either a procurator (as the Roman historian Tacitus suggests) or prefect (as an inscription in Caesarea Maritima from the reign of the Emperor Tiberius claims) of the Judean Province, subject to the legate (probably a proconsul) of the Syrian Province. His name would identify him as a Roman of the Equestrian Order (therefore not able to command a full legion), and possibly of Samnite (southern Italian) origins. He would have been responsible primarily for the military forces in the province and the collection of taxes.

He would also have been responsible for maintaining civil order, so though he ruled from Caesaria his presence in Jerusalem during Passover would have been expected due to the large numbers of pilgrims in the city (celebrating their freedom from another empire at that!).