What makes a Catholic ... Catholic?

What makes someone Catholic? Not a practicing Catholic, but a Catholic. Is it being baptized in the Church? Is it receiving first holy communion? If you are baptized outside the Church but then receive first holy communion are you Catholic? If you are baptized first not by a Catholic priest but receive a Catholic ceremony later, are you Catholic? If someone could clear this up for me would be great.

Baptims into the Church or reception into the Church by profession of faith.

8 Likes

This is it, exactly. And once baptized or received one never ceases to be Catholic, no matter how wrong one can be.

1 Like

Ok so personally, I was baptized by my Catholic grandpa when I was a baby, then had an episcopalian baptism ceremony after that, then had a Catholic baptismal ceremony after that. Then, I had my first confession and holy communion when I was in 1st grade, but I did not get confirmed into the church until my freshman year of college. At what point did I become a Catholic?

Seems like from the narrative, when your grandpa baptized you as a baby :grinning:

5 Likes

Ok gotcha. Why was I Catholic at that point? Because I thought in order to be baptized Catholic you need to be baptized in the catholic rite of baptism by a priest.

No, anyone can baptize validly. Your baptism would have been illict, but valid.

As long as the baptism is Christian and done in the Name of the Father Son and Holy Spirit it is valid.

1 Like

@ajac - what do you mean by this? Do you mean “what makes a person subject to canon law?” Or do you simply mean “what would the tiniest detail that separates a Catholic from a Protestant / Orthodox?”

So does that mean people who are baptized in protestant churches in a valid baptism are Catholic?

Possibly when your Catholic grandpa baptized you (if he reported it to the parish you lived in and had you enrolled).