What non-Catholic 'causes' do you support and why?

I tend to focus and be involved in all things Catholic, yet, perhaps involvement in other causes is a good evangelization tool.

Even if it’s not for evangelization, what non-Catholic activities do you participate in?

Kathy

I have been using Kiva for a couple years and love it. Reminds me of the “teach a man to fish” saying.

We help support dh’s cousins who are Presbyterian missionaries in Berlin.

I don’t define the world as “Catholic” and “Non-Catholic”. I have certain beliefs and support them. I volunteer with several ministries in my church and in other churches, even Non-Catholic ones. For example, I tutor underprivileged children at a Presbyterian church, work with several in our parish to help a non-denominational Christian foodbank, and work with a career and unemployment assistance group in a Methodist church.

I support causes that benefit people with disAbilities. I have a daughter with Down syndrome and am happy to be involved with these charities.

pet related causes (rescue, sterilization, etc.) and adopt-a-classroom.

Well, we support Amnesty International, and Ducks Unlimited, and my husband has been involved involved in scouting and the local food bank, and I’m involved in a local breastfeeding support group.

I forgot, We also support best friends and humane society

Humane society, red cross, and if I ever spring it rich, I’m giving alot to the the Elizabeth Glaser Pedatric AIDS foundation.

Most of our charitable giving goes towards Catholic-related organizations. The rest goes to the following:

~Our local Humane Society
~Our local Zoological Society
~Nature Conservancy
~UPAF (United Performing Arts Fund)
~United Way (checked the local recipients and they were all “kosher”)

MB

P.S.-We don’t donate to all these organizations each year…only on occasion.

Pet related issues when I had a job .

Smile Train, Guiding Eyes for the Blind and some other local charities.

Habitat for Humanity.