What other books would you recommend?

I am new to Catholicism, and I am reading any and everything I can get my hands on. Our local parish has RCIA classes once a year and we missed the beginning date, so I am learning all I can on my own. So far I have purchased Catholicism for Dummies, Why Do Catholics Do That?, Firesides’s New American Bible Personal Study Edition, United States Catholic Catechism for Adults.

What else would you recommend? I’m looking for both nonfiction and fiction.

“A Biblical Defense of Catholicism” by Dave Armstrong and “Catholic and Christian” by Alan Schrek.

I am not an expert on religion. There are professors of religion, priests, archibishops whose advice would guide you much better,
but I can recommend you The Holy Bible. It seems to have varied
editions, but one can read as many editions as possible.
There is an edition in The Louvre Museum- Tha Barnaba’s Bible
which is also recommended.
Then controversial perhaps, but not to a true believer of God,
one can also have a look at The Holy Koran which came (as this is stated in it) “to confirm the books sent by God prior to it”.

I am a convert to Catholicism from evangelical Protestantism.

My favorite book is Evangelical is not Enough, by Thomas Howard. Beautifully written with literary style, but very understandable. ignatius.com/ViewProduct.aspx?SID=1&Product_ID=589&AFID=12&

The Catholic Mystique by Jennifer Ferrara is excellent if you are a woman or are interested in women’s issues, especially the issue of women in the clergy and the Marian doctrines. catholicfreeshipping.com/Products/cfs_camybyjefeca.html

I like all the Scott Hahn books, but I don’t like his writing style. It sounds like he dictates the books, and then the secretary transcribes his dictation word for word. Sometimes it’s a little jumpy. But the teaching is wonderful.