What were the problems before Vatican II?

I just finished reading “Theological Highlights of Vatican II” by Pope Benedict 16th, which was quite interesting. Being born after Vatican II, and its implementation, I have little knowledge of how the Church “thought” before Vatican II, or what the Church looked like. The intention of the book was not really to explore the specific theological beliefs from before the Council, but one can infer from the new what the old may have looked like. But my question is how did various aspects of the pre-Vatican II theology present itself in the world as specific issues.

The 4 Constitutions of the XXI Ecumenical Council addressed the problems:

• Sacrosanctum Concilium: liturgical renowal. This started with St Pius X, and the council summarized the principles.

• Dei Verbum. Up to venerable Pius XII the Tridentine definition was accepted: The Scripture was dictated word to Word by the Holy Spirit. The Divino Afflatu Spiritu and other decisions softened the understanding. In my opinion the question: ‘What the revelation is and means for us?’ - is still unresolved. Our pope suggests (Milestones) that the revelation is God’s continuous communication with the world.

• Lumen Gentium : the previous Church was considered only as the pope and the bishops, the priests were mere executors, and the only right of the laity was to receive the teaching and the sacraments. Before the council either the lower clergy and the laity wanted greater role. The council tried to give directions

• Gaudium et Spes : what is the relation between the Church and the World. This question was introduced only during the council. We still do not know the answer.

pre-VII, the tumor of Modernism was in it’s first stages. Today, the devastating fruits of Modernism can be readily seen. Modernism is cancer.

That’s the difference imo.