What would you say if asked to describe God's love without using any family terms?

Title pretty much explains it. If you had to describe God’s love for us with appealing to any form of family relationships, what would you say? What sort of description would you give?

Edit: Imagine you’re trying to explain God’s love to someone who says that doesn’t make sense, and who doesn’t have a good idea of family to fall back on.

Awesome? .

An ocean.

10 characters.

Let me clarify:

I’m thinking more, if someone says, I don’t understand what this sort of love is like. It doesn’t make a lot of sense, it doesn’t sound like anything I’ve ever seen. In fact it sounds bad, or it sounds frightening, or it sounds dangerous.

How would you describe it to them? How would you tell them what it’s supposed to look like, how God cares for us? Not terms that might be devotional for those who already know, but if you had to explain to someone unsure or uncertain.

(Sorry, I’m not really good at explaining exactly what I’m looking for tonight. I’m just thinking more…there are plenty of people out there for whom saying God loves us like a parent loves their child, is not a comforting analogy. And I’m not sure what words one would use.)

Sirach 6:
14 A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter:
he that has found one has found a treasure.
15 There is nothing so precious as a faithful friend,
and no scales can measure his excellence.
16 A faithful friend is an elixir of life;
and those who fear the Lord will find him.
17 Whoever fears the Lord directs his friendship aright,
for as he is, so is his neighbor also.

Sacrifices all for you

So, specifically avoiding the love of a Father, how about:

The love of a…

• Creator for His creation
  • Master for His servants
  • King for His subjects
  • Brother for His brothers and sisters
  • Faithful Friend who lays down His life for His friends
  • Husband for His Bride
  • Shepherd for His lost sheep
  • Teacher for His wayward students