what's the protestants' view on the word "protestant"?

why, when asked about his/her religion, a protestant is more likely to reply “christian” rather than “protestant” or the denomination of his church?

do they think the word “protestant” is offensive?

No, but it’s semantics.

Your asking what *religion *they are, and that’s Christian (as opposed to Jewish, Buddist etc.). Next time, just ask them what church they go to (or what denomiation they are), and they’ll tell you “Chuch of Christ” or “Baptist” or “Assemblies of God” etc. :smiley:

I don’t find it offensive, I just don’t like the term. For one, I’m no longer protesting the Church! Plus, I no longer go to my parents church (Church of Christ), so I can’t respond with that.
I’ll just say “Christian” until I can officially call myself a Catholic (and boy, will that feel good).

I think some people just don’t know. I didn’t. I just knew I was a Christian. Saying you are a Christian is just more user-friendly too, some people may wonder what “Protestant” is but it is hard to not know what a Christian is.

I’ve conversed with many Protestants who have an antipathy to labels. They no longer go to a church because of its beliefs; it just happens to be where they feel the Lord wants them to go. So they don’t want to be labeled with some church’s baggage because, in fact, they have no allegiance to that baggage. They believe that all such baggage needs to be forgotten and we should all just be “Christians.” And that can even go so far as the distinction between Protestant and Catholic.

My own opinion is that such fogginess goes in the wrong direction, although it might feel good at first.