What's wrong with guitars?

Hello everyone! I have only been Catholic for a little while so I am still learning things. Recently I have heard a lot of people complaining about guitars in mass. I thought it was just older parishioners who didn’t like the style, but several of them seem to think that it is against Cannon law. I have no idea. I always thought it was a taste thing. What is the truth of the matter?

I like what His Eminence Cardinal Arinze has to say about liturgical music

For music in the liturgy, we should start by saying that Gregorian music is the Church’s precious heritage. It should stay. It should not be banished. If therefore in a particular diocese or country, no one hears Gregorian music anymore, then somebody has made a mistake somewhere.

But, the Church is not saying that everything should be Gregorian music. There is room for music which respects that language, that culture, that people. There is room for that too, and the present books say that is a matter for the Bishops Conference, because it generally goes beyond the boundaries of one diocese.

The ideal thing is that the bishops would have a Liturgical Music Comission which looks at the wording and the music of the hymns. And when the commission is satisfied, judgement is brought to the bishops for approval, in the name of the rest of the conference.

But not individuals just composing anything and singing it in church. This is not right at all. No matter how talented the individual is. That brings us to the question of the instrument to be used. The local church should be conscious that church worship is not really the same as what we sing in a bar, or what we sing in a convention for youth. Therefore it should influence the type of instrument used, the type of music used.