What's Wrong with Sex-less Romance?

I’m somewhat appalled by the almost constant reference to sexually related romance so prolific in even Catholic circles! Why cannot good single Catholics, or even married ones, just simply cuddle up with each other and exchange intimate looks and touches (not necessarily kisses) without having to perform sexual actions? Where has the appreciation for the simple, the modest and innocent gone to? It’s all I ask for whenever I meet up a with a potential partner, and I feel very fulfilled and satisfied with it!

Well, there’s a big difference between the appropriate expectations of persons in the single life vs the married state.

4 Likes

That’s true. I’m rather very new with this relationship stuff! But I think singles such as myself should primarily concern themselves with an appreciation for the little things in life and be thankful for the little piece of heaven that God permits us to have without violating His commandments. :slight_smile:

Sex is one of the little things in life!
And for married couples it is generally quite important to be intimate with each other on a regular basis.

What you are describing sounds like it could be a near occaion of sin for a single person. I mean, cuddling up alone doesn’t always stop there.

What is the point you are making though?

I don’t really get what you’re saying.

2 Likes

Perhaps you can give an example is this “constant reference” in Catholic circles, because frankly I don’t know what you are talking about.

That is appropriate for dating. However, there are different expectations in a marriage.

2 Likes

If you’ve read any of the Theology of the Body, you will learn that sexual intercourse between married couples has deep deep spiritual significance. It is a picture of the intimate and pleasurable relationship between God and His Church and how relationship with God is life-giving.