What's wrong with wearing make-up?

I might be wrong thinking this—but I felt it is rude. Please correct me if I am wrong.

You see, I love to wear make-up. I have been wearing make-up for decades. I have an artistic inclination and I usually express this in wearing make-up in a way that I feel enhances the way I look.

Its my personal choice and most of the time people do not comment negatively and most of the time get compliments.

In my work as a dentist I got compliments from patients and got asked out by men and women who wanted to be my friend. Perhaps, its my personality, but I think make-up did help improve my professional look.

Some people, though, I feel, react to it in a strongly negative, vocal,hurtful manner and I don’t know why.

You see, I am studying nursing as a second course. Our professor told us to wear a little make-up while on hospital duty to help us look presentable to patients. Me—I’m game with that coz, I’m an expert doing my own make-up and I know what fits me.

Yesterday, before going to the hospital, I remember asking our housekeeper if my make-up was ok and if I looked neat enough . She said I looked fine.

After that, I walked to the hospital from our house. When I reached the hospital one of the intructor nurse was taking a break with 11 of my co-students. She called me to sit beside her, saying, “Come here, I’ve been wanting to ask you this for a long time.” All my classmates–men and women – looked on as they were all seated around a table with her.

Then, in a loud voice, she asked me, “I’m just curious, what brand of make-up do you wear coz I want to buy it. It doesn’t melt in this heat.” Me–I was shocked, and didn’t know how to reply as I felt all my 11 classmates (second courser nursing students) began scrutinizing my face as to where I placed make-up, listening to her every word.