What's your favorite meatless meal for Lent?

My DH and I decided to give up eating meat for our first Lent as a married couple. This is a huge stretch for us since we almost always have meals that include some kind of chicken, beef, or pork entree. We are going to allow ourselves seafood, since it’s not considered to be a meat. So I’m asking for all your best meatless recipes (cheap would be good too!), that have a good amount of protein in them.

Also, I was wondering if anyone out there had some tips about cooking with tofu. I’ve never used it before, and don’t even know where to buy it. Can I just get it at the grocery store, or at a specialty shop?

Thanks in advance for all your replies, and God bless you all!

BEANS BEANS! :smiley: We eat lots bean dishes! Black beans & rice, bean soups, etc. Soups go great with a salad.

Look at Costco/Sams for large quantities of frozen fish. We buy a bag of salmon filets maybe once or twice a month - those are DELICIOUS baked in the oven with a little olive oil, garlic salt, and pepper! :slight_smile: I know the warehouse stores often have large quantities of frozen fish in several varieties!

Those are our favorite meat-free dishes!

I eat quite a bit of pasta pretty much all year round - I make a pesto (arugula or basil -based) sauce, or a spicy tomato sauce, or a carbonara (cheese and mushroom) sauce.

And plenty of eggs - omelettes, frittatas and so on. You could also do things like a vege quiche or vege pizza.

My favorite meatless meal is stuffed pasta shells with tomato sauce. Mmm. I thought of that before you asked about tofu. You can replace all or some of the ricotta or cottage cheese in lasagna and stuffed shells with tofu. Most grocery stores carry tofu.