When does Lent officially end?

I have not posted on this site in awhile. I had been away from the Catholic Church for about fifteen years. This is my first time observing Lent in that time. I gave up alcohol for Lent. Not that I was ever a big drinker. I’d usually have a few beers on Friday nights or maybe a drink or two during the week. I did slip up once about a week into Lent. I drank a little wine before remembering that I had given up alcohol for Lent. I have a stupid question. Does lent officially end on Easter Sunday or on the next day? I was just wondering when was the right time to break my fast.

Neither. Lent ends when the Triduum begins, on Holy Thursday.

I was just wondering when was the right time to break my fast.

Hmm… are you thinking that you might go out and have a drink or two on Holy Thursday, after the Mass of the Lord’s Supper? Or on Good Friday? :hmmm:

I might suggest that, even though Lent ends, you might consider keeping your Lenten resolution through till Easter… or even beyond, if you feel it’s beneficial for you. :wink:

Lent does end with the beginning of the Triduum (starting on Holy Thursday, the Thursday before Easter Sunday), but with Holy Thursday and Good Friday being such solemn and reflective days (and Good Friday being a day of fasting), in my house, my husband and I usually just keep our Lenten promises until Saturday night (after Easter Vigil), if not until Easter Sunday morning.

Yes.

Our parish collects our Lenten charitable donations during the Mass of the Lord’s Supper, on Holy Thursday.

Good Friday is a day of fast and abstinence, so, for most practical purposes, Lent ends on Holy Saturday.

The other posters gave great answers regarding the end of Lent [The Mass of the Lord’s Supper - Holy Thursday and Good Friday - fast and abstinence] … Holy Saturday - Easter Vigil

and not be Pharisaical … so please hold the lectures ;)… I get that Lent is not all about the rules but about growing in faith :thumbsup: