When does Sunday begin?

I am new to CAF but I have read in numerous posts that the First Mass of Sunday cannot be celebrated on Saturday evening before 4.00 p.m.

Where has it been laid down that 4.00 p.m. is the time for Sunday to begin?

Many of these posts state 4.00 p.m. is the time for Vespers. I was not aware that there is a prescribed time for Vespers. Anyway, I thought the traditional canonical hour for Vespers was 6.00 p.m.

This leads me to vent one of my frustrations. Surely we should be going to Sunday Mass on SUNDAY!

I appreciate that fulfilling the obligation on Saturday evening was a concession to people who could genuinely not go to Mass on Sunday. I was never really convinced that even that was necessary.

It seems to me that a lot of people go to Mass late on Saturday afternoon/early Saturday evening - it still leaves them time to go out on Saturday night and that Sunday doesn’t have to be disrupted by going to Mass.

The diocese sets the earliest time for the Sunday anticipated Mass. Usually it’s 4pm or 5pm.

Going to Mass on Saturday evening does not change the obligation to keep Sunday as a day set apart - avoiding unnecessary work, etc.

Sadly, the reason we have more people going to Mass on Saturday evenings is because they have work on Sundays

Sunset on a Saturday traditionally.