When good protestants die and are in purgatory, will they understand where they are?

When good protestants die and find themselves in purgatory (but they knew nothing about purgatory in their earthly life), will they understand where they are and what is happening?

Remember, there is no basis for believing we will automatically acquire spiritual insight simply because we die.

good question!:smiley:

i don’t know.

well if they don’t have immediate awareness, maybe they’d meet a bad catholic and they would explain it to them?

[quote=speedy5]well if they don’t have immediate awareness, maybe they’d meet a bad catholic and they would explain it to them?
[/quote]

My idea of purgatory has always been that we are isolated there (like solitary confinement).

oh. i didn’t know. i’m new to catholicism.

Being a sinner myself, while i am there and if they dont understand where they are at, I will try to explain to themtat this is the place that doesn’t exist:D

[quote=speedy5]oh. i didn’t know. i’m new to catholicism.
[/quote]

That’s fine (and welcome, BTW). The Church has never defined exactly what purgatory is like, so there’s no way to know whether we will have contact with other souls there. My own idea is that its a lonely place, but you could just as easily be correct that we will have contact with others.

Oh i always viewed purgatory as a classroom type atmosphere where people are being corrected. kind of like a detention or study hall. but i could be wrong

i have read larry niven/jerry pournelle inferno. t have tried dante, but poetry doesn’t connect for me. may be some day.

i have known protestants that i can’t possible believe go to hell. super good people.

i have known catholics that might very well have already lost their souls.

i think Our Lord said “by it’s fruit shall a tree be known”

'nuff said.

[quote=DavidFilmer]Remember, there is no basis for believing we will automatically acquire spiritual insight simply because we die.
[/quote]