When is it doing the right thing...or butting in?

Hello - This is my first time on here so I hope I am in the right forum? And I am a very private person so this is a huge outreach for me for some guidance....

Short story: I was raised Catholic. Fell away from my faith for many many years. Felt lost and never completely whole but in Oct of 2010 I became back in full communion with the Church - which has been the most amazing blessing as well as some of the most trying times of my life.

I have recently been faced with a question that I have no idea the path to take.

My question: When do you know if you are doing the right thing, or to just mind your own business?

Situation: Been Legally (civil) divorced for nine years. This past Christmas, my two teenage children "accidentally" let the "cat out of the bag" that there dad was in a relationship with a married ex-highschool girlfriend. Besides the fact that it is adultery and their dad didn't want me to know about it, I had gone through confirmation with this womans husband (and later kind of dated). So they all knew I knew him, and were afraid I would tell him. I haven't spoken to him since I was 17 (27 years ago).

Although I realize personally it's none of my business what they are doing, I'm having trouble knowing something about someone I used to care about, as well as the fact that my children are okay with the situation. They have also been told that he is abusive and a terrible controlling person. Yet she is still with him? Not exactly the example I want my 18 daughter seeing as okay?