When to Get Married

My fiance and I have been dating for a little over 3 years and we got engaged in April. We were planning on getting married in October–6 months after we got engaged–but our entire family is against it. My family really likes him but they are worried that he won’t be able to provide should I get pregnant. He’s a college grad but he doesn’t have a good job right now. He is making about $1000/month after taxes and his job doesn’t have room for him to move up nor does it have health benefits.

Right now, I am unemployed because I haven’t been able to find a job. I am also a college grad but I feel like if I don’t return to school, I won’t be able to find a decent job. We are also thinking about him going back to school because his job prospects are very slim with the major he chose in college.

We both love each other very much but we don’t know what to do. Do we get married, use NFP, and trust that God will help us find jobs and bring us children when the time is right? If we both go back to school, is it wise to be married and performing the marital act knowing that we wouldn’t be able to provide for a child should we get pregnant?

We’ve both been praying about our situation but we really don’t know what to do. We’ve tried talking to our priest but he just says keep praying for a job and don’t delay marriage. Both sets of parents keep telling us we’re being unwise and trying to rush things but neither side is Catholic so they don’t understand. It’s also very hard because we’ve been waiting so long to “enjoy” each other and the prospect of waiting for a year or more to get married is quite difficult.

For those of you who got married young, how did you all do it? I would really appreciate your advice and prayers!!

Listen to your priest. Its time to put your faith into action and trust that God will provide, get married as you planned.