Where did the books go?

The Protestant Bible consists of 66 books. The Roman Catholic version, including the Deuterocanonical books, counts altogether 76 books. If Protestants believe in the theory of Sola Scriptura, why did they discount almost 10 books in the Bible, which had been solidified for more than a few centuries at the point of the Reformation. If it is believed to be the inspired word of God, why did they throw out the other stuff?

they believe that it is not the “inspired word of God”. dont ask me why. i think it’s kind of funny, though, how Catholic bibles always say “with apocrapha” when in all actuality it should be protestant bibles that say “without apocrapha”.

Luther wanted to throw out some NT books as well so I certainly do not hold Luther in high regard for his theological views. Luther has alot of books devoted to him and one thing I have noticed about them is they all portray him as a man plagued by demons. I am not saying this discredits him and I certainly don’t want to insult his character, but it seems as if his puzzle was missing a few pieces…:rolleyes:


Apparently, Martin Luther originally translated and included these books in his bible:

“Many Protestants would be Amazed to find that the book they deny as Scripture, were not held as such, by their early rebellious ancestors.”


Does anyone know any more about this?

Guttenberg’s first book hot off the printing press was the Bible, a Catholic edition complete with the Deuterocanonoical books, if this helps at all.

Another Catholic first…MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I am SOO tired…:smiley:


This is an interesting excerpt:

There is a substantial body of literature now extant which points to the unavoidable conclusion that Martin Luther suffered from serious mental illness and that his mental illness was directly related to the theological opinions he espoused when he broke from the Church in the 16th century. The common excuse offered by dissident theologians that he was a crude peasant ignores the fact that Luther was hypercritical of his opponents to the point of inventing faults they didn’t have while being himself morally suspect. Erasmus, for instance, had many faults, but Luther’s attacks on him in “The Bondage of the Will” were exercises in slander fueled by his own battle with manic-depression and psychotic tendencies during his periods of mania.

For a man who was going to “purify” the Church “out of love and zeal for the elucidation of the truth” (as Luther is quoted by CNS), Luther lived an immoral and unprincipled life. In “Table Talks” Luther got drunk one night and told some of his fawning sycophants that Jesus must have been an adulterer because even He could not resist temptations of the flesh. He went on to claim that Jesus had an affair with Mary Magdalene, Mary and Martha of Bethany, and the Samaritan woman at the well. In Luther’s own words in a “Spiritual Counseling” letter to Jerome Weimer: “[t]he whole Decalogue must go! … Sin strongly; believe more strongly.”


[size=2]I found the reason![/size]


The canon of Scripture is the list of 73 books that belong to the Bible. (The word “Bible” means “the Book.”) The earliest writings of the Bible were likely composed in the 10th century B.C. The writing of Scripture continued until the first century A.D., when Revelation was complete.

Seven books of the Bible, all in the Old Testament, are accepted by Roman Catholics and Eastern Orthodox, but are not accepted by Jews or Protestants. These include 1 and 2 Maccabees, Judith, Tobit, Baruch, Sirach, and Wisdom, and additions to the books of Esther and Daniel. These books are called Deuterocanonical by Catholics and Orthodox and Apocryphal by Jews and Protestants. These were the last books of the Old Testament written, composed in the last two centuries B.C. Their omission in Protestant Bibles leaves a chronological gap in salvation history.

The version of the Bible in use at the time of Jesus was the Septuagint (abbreviated LXX, for the 70 men who translated it from Hebrew into Greek by the beginning of the first century B.C.). This version of the Bible included the seven Deuterocanonical books. This was the version of the Old Testament used by the New Testament authors and by Christians during the first century A.D.

With the destruction of the temple in Jerusalem by the Romans in the year 70 A.D. and because the Christians were seen as a threat, the Jewish leaders saw a need to get their house in order. One thing that they did was to decide officially the list of books that were to compose their Scriptures. They did this at the Council of Jamnia (about 100 A.D.), at which they rejected the seven Deuterocanonical books because they believed that they were not written in Hebrew. (In 1947, however, fragments in Hebrew of Tobit and Sirach were discovered among the Dead Sea Scrolls. In addition, most Scripture scholars believe that 1 Maccabees, Judith, Baruch and parts of Wisdom were also originally written in Hebrew.) The early Church did not require all Scripture to be written in Hebrew, and the New Testament books were written in Greek.

The early Church continued to accept the books of the LXX version, although some debate about these books continued through the 5th century. This list, as accepted by the Catholic Church, was affirmed by the Council of Hippo in 393 A.D., by the Council of Carthage in 397 A.D., and by Pope Innocent I in 405 A.D. At the Ecumenical Council of Florence in 1442, the Catholic list was again restated, against those who wanted to include even more books.

In the 16th century, Martin Luther adopted the Jewish list, putting the Deuterocanonical books in an appendix. He also put the letter of James, the letter to the Hebrews, the letters of John, and the book of Revelation from the New Testament in an appendix. He did this for doctrinal reasons (for example: 2 Maccabees 12:43-46 supports the doctrine of purgatory, Hebrews supports the existence of the priesthood, and James 2:24 supports the Catholic doctrine on merit). Later Lutherans followed Luther’s Old Testament list and rejected the Deuterocanonical books, but they did not follow his rejection of the New Testament books. Finally, in 1546, the Council of Trent reaffirmed the traditional list of the Catholic Church.

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in these forums do not necessarily reflect those of Catholic Answers. For official apologetics resources please visit www.catholic.com.