Where did the marriage vows originate from?

:confused: I am studying the Theology of the Body-- one of JPII’s encyclicals and the discussion of renewing one’s marriage vows through the conjugal act was discussed.

We also had some insight on this in regard to singles aspiring to the marriage vocation and what kind of person to be as well as to seek.

So where did the marriage vows derive from? We are all familiar with how Christopher West presents the “the free, total, faithful, fruitful” and the relation the conjugal act has to Christ and the Church as well as the wedding vows.

Are the wedding vows still being said through out all the churches in the same way? Have they changed through time? Are they Biblically based and where?

As far as I have seen many Catholics have made up wedding vows–is this allowed without also including the traditional vows? Is this even discussed in Catholic Precana?

In this time where marriage has been degraded–the vows and covenant of the sacrament mean the world–“literally”

please give me as much information as possible about this–the orgin of the vows, the establishment of the covenant and the intertwine aspect the vows, the conjugal act, the Eucharist and Christ and the Church have between each other.

Thank you,

Paula

What you asking us to do is to do your research for you. But, you can find these things yourself online. Try these links:

Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catholic Encyclopedia

Papal Encyclicals

Scripture Catholic

All the best in your efforts. Let us know what you find! :slight_smile:

In the USA there is a choice of two wedding vows. The standard is:

“I, N., take you, N., to be my wife. I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.”

OR "In the dioceses of the United States, the following form may also be used: