Where do teachers have authority?

Does a teacher have authority over students outside of his/her classroom and on matters regarding non academic things?

Not usually. Sometimes the teachers are responsible for enforcing school policies, though. For example, a teacher might have authority to approve or not a volunteer commitment that is required by the school for service hours. Do you have a specific instance in mind?

I am a retired teacher and I would have to say that teachers have responsibilties for their students that extend beyond academics and the classroom. Here is an example to consider. A few years ago a teacher was following a bus with students from their school. A student stood in the back of the bus, not realizing who was in the car behind, and pulled their pants down to “moon” out the window. The student was reported and disciplined. Another, a student emails a teacher that there is an underage drinking party in progress and the teacher reports this to the principal who takes action. I could go on with more but if you have a specific issue I could prbably answer you better.

This is much to vague to answer. Did you have something specific in mind?

First of all, the authority a teacher has is largely a cultural thing. In some parts of the world they are expected to be “in charge” beyond the classroom, while in other parts or the world it is considered “none of their business” to do so.

In my teenage years I have lived in different parts of the world, and personally experienced the above.

Personally I do not believe, that a teacher should have authority over anyone. God, the family and the law has authority. No one else should interfere with such things.

When I send my children to school, I expect teachers to have total authority.

The reason I send my children to school is for them to learn. If another child is disturbing the academic atmosphere of the class and distracting my children, I want the teacher to have the authority to eject that child.