Where is the religious instruction?

“Sixteen college freshmen, most of them Catholic in one way or another; and not one of them could recall, “Woman, behold your son.””

In some ways, it seems, an illiterate peasant of the Middle Ages might have been more religiously literate than a college freshman today.

Anthony Esolen contemplates the fate of religious instruction here.

Sadly, he’s all too right. :frowning:

Wow, he sums up the situation of college youth quite well. And as a disclaimer, I am a college sophomore.

May God bless you all! :slight_smile:

26 When Jesus saw his mother, and the disciple whom he loved standing near, he said to his mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” 27 Then he said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” And from that hour the disciple took her to his own home. (John 19:26-27)

In the students’ defense, John 19:26-27 is not typically read at any Sunday Mass or any other holy-day-of-obligation Mass. Even a daily Mass attendee might never hear it read, as it is but one of two possible Gospel readings for September 15, the memorial of Our Lady of Sorrows.

True, but I rather think the point is that the students aren’t receiving the kind of religious education they ought to be getting/they deserve as Catholics. Religious Ed ought to include more than they may have heard read at Mass–a lot more than that. :slight_smile:

They’d have to show up to class though. THAT is was is not happening. People don’t enroll their kids. Soccer and cheerleading is way more important. :rolleyes:

It begins with the domestic Church, doesn’t it? Of course, their parents were the children of the 60’s and 70’s whose parishes, all too often, taught them “all we need is love” ala the Beatles, instead of the truths of the faith. It’s no wonder they don’t see religious education as necessary.

You left out the burlap banners. Lots of burlap banners.

:rotfl: Yeah, I forgot about those. :stuck_out_tongue: