Where to Learn Theology?

Hello everyone!

I am a full time college student, who has had a strong upbringing in the Catholic faith. However, I want to learn more. I know most of the basics, but I want to know more. I love Christ and his Church, and I desire to love more. The more I know, the more I can love and better share my faith with those around me. I am very involved with my local Church, but unfortunately, my parish doesn’t offer any of the more “advanced” teachings that I am looking for.

Since I am a full time student, and my college doesn’t offer any theology courses either, I am curious as to where I can get this education. Are there any online (preferably free) courses on Catholic Theology?

Peace of Christ.

You might just try looking up the syllabus or bibliography for a theology course at a Catholic university. That is sort of a do it yourself approach.

Theology for Beginners by F.J. Sheed

https://books.google.com/books/content?id=WD3ZAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&imgtk=AFLRE73ucbO_juKze-16uYCVegjl8faOcQRitwoTGwrQlyT7Ip4fYSfw-PE6jVNmEJzmdW6ZX58A6sQg_ScqCebzWjKf7DMIjxqhpgk4rrS3SvP6Gp31hniAydANmeFunYFh7K8ugukE

Don’t let the title fool you. It is very deep.

-Tim-

Knights of Columbus put out a couple free programs:
kofc.org/un/en/cis/index.html

These aren’t free, but are pretty good, fairly inexpensive, non-credit courses. I’ve taken a few courses with both STEP and VLCFF :

University of Notre Dame STEP: step.nd.edu

University of Dayton VLCFF: vlcff.udayton.edu

Boston College Crossroads: bc.edu/schools/stm/crossroads/

PAX

Don’t let the title fool you. It is very deep.

I told someone once I was reading Ratzinger’s “Introduction to Christianity,” he was very confused! :smiley:

If you’re really serious, after college you could register as a lay student at a seminary (not free but depending on where you’re looking at not that much)… or actually enter one!

Thank you for all for pointing me in the right direction!