Which of these situations are self defense?

This is a follow up to this thread: forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=447395

I am curious how people view self defense.

(Again, please no cheating, assume the only way to save yourself will be to shoot the man. If you shoot him, you live and he dies. If you don’t shoot him, he lives and you die.)

Um, by shooting a man-you can go for a non fatal wound. How about the leg or something?

NOT trying to cause trouble. Just asking-did I misread something?

If you shoot him he dies, and that’s the only way to save yourself.

Whoops, I voted for all of them, before I read your explanatory post. I was saying that they’d all be potentially legit self-defense it shooting to stop them, rather than kill them.

In general, if someone is about to kill me I kill them first. No changes from the last thread, sorry :frowning: Maybe if I knew more about the person I wouldn’t shoot them.

Sorry, I’m not very good at making polls apparently :frowning: No way to change it now, hopefully there won’t be more misunderstandings

1. If he’s directly attacking you, you can defend yourself even if he’s being coerced into attacking you, let alone “merely” not in control of his faculties.

2. Blasting a knee or foot makes anybody without a gun unable to kill you anyway (shooting a thigh could kill someone).

3. A gun whip or buttstroke provides enough advantage in melee to make firing unnecessary in most cases.

But if the only way to save yourself would be to shoot him dead, would you?