Who can't stand graduation ceremonies

I graduated from 2 colleges one being an Ivy League and didn’t go to either of my graduations. I was even asked to be the student speaker at one of the graduations. You wait 3-5 hours to hear people make politically correct or off base liberal speeches for 3 seconds of calling the name of you or the person you care about. For any person or family it seems like a completely useless and unproductive use of time for am individual or a family
I know many will disagree.

It’s mainly for the proud parents and grandparents.

I totally agree.

At the end of my education, I was part time, went to school for a 1 hour class went home and socialized with people who were not in my school. I didn’t see the point of sitting with a bunch of strangers.

Honestly if it is a small group 50 or less, it could be a good time. But all those people just take away from the intimacy

Angie

I think it’s good to experience one, but I didn’t go to my last one. I went out for a meal with my family instead.

When I was teaching we were required to attend graduation and wear our caps and gowns, I dreaded going but always went away smiling. Watching students who I had in class as a freshman graduate was a very rewarding experience. I miss getting to do that now that I have retired.

I have been to at least two a year for the last five years

The speeches are always peppered with cliches!

But at least high school and college are “real” graduations. What makes me crazy are kindergarten “graduations,” “graduations” from grammar school to middle school, etc.

My Dad showed my sister and me this. Definitely worth a watch! youtube.com/watch?v=_lfxYhtf8o4

Oh, yeah, those really get me. I’ve only had one child ‘graduate’ from nursery school. He couldn’t have been less interested in the proceedings.

For the purpose of the ceremony the children were told they were to be flowers. He lay on the ground and when asked what kind of flower he was he replied, “A dead one.”